May 12: Fri-Yay! I guess

Art of Manliness (AoM) 30 Days to a Better Man Day 8 = Start a Journal

  • The daily blog, currently writing, is my journal. I use this to look back on to what I was doing in the past. This helps me to determine if what I am doing is working or not.
  • I have a separate workout journal at home that is more depth. If anything were to happen to it, I would always have this.
  • I would love to spend more time writing articles of my interest, as I have in the  past on occasion. My goal is one per week, although that does not always happen.
  • GOAL – Start a journal. Pick a medium (print, online, blog, etc.). Pick a topic(s) of interest. Start writing!

Wake Up:

  • Storms rolled through at 2 am and woke me up. Nothing too bad but it was enough to get me up
  • Tried to get up with my alarm still after my wife woke up but that didnt happen either
  • I think it around 6:00 am when I finally got up

Train:

  • Front squat EMOM x 2 reps x 15 minutes at 190 lbs. –last set did 3 reps
  • Deadlift EMOM x 2 resp x 15 minutes at 270 lbs. –last set did 4 reps
  • Lunge: 5 minutes

Nutrition:

  • Eggs, oat, cacoa nibs, honey, cinnamon
  • PB & banana
  • chicken, veggies, quinoa mix
  • turkey, quinoa mix
  • c

Daily Devotion:

  • Bible in 1 Year Series
    • Transform Your World
      1. Proverbs 11:9-18. Be a blessing to your nation
        • How we live as individuals affects not only ourselves, but also the world around us
        • don’t slander your neighbors, but rather exercise restraint and hold your tongue; don’t gossip but be trustworthy in keeping secrets
        • be kind-hearted, and sow righteousness
      2. John 4:1-26. Break down divisions of every kind
        • Every church should be an inclusive church because God’s love is radically inclusive
        • Jesus came to break down every barrier in our society
        • End the war between the sexes
        • End racism, discrimination and apartheid
        • End class war and social division
        • The Holy Spirit is the only one who can bring about transformation in society; the Holy Spirit who brings unity, breaking down the divisions of gender, race and social position; those indwelt with the Holy Spirit should be at the forefront of the fight for gender, racial and social equity
      3. Judges 1:1-2:5. Cry out to God for good leadership
        • God calls you to be utterly ruthless about the bad stuff. He does not want us to compromise.
        • Empowered by the Holy Spirit, good leaders can transform the world

What I Am Reading:

What I Am Listening To:

Daily Agenda:

  • Errands – Lowe’s for trimmer parts (did not have), Sam’s club (sale on food items)
  • Work – few hours at the rec and then all night for graduation (volun-told hours)

Random Thoughts:

  • The featured image is what I think about when I imagine living in the country of beautiful Texas. I grew up in the country, not as similar to the above. Although between all my family we did have barns and bluebonnet fields. My grandparents also had cattle and horses. GOAL: get back to living there ASAP.
Leave a Reply

