May 11, 30 Days to a Better Man Challenge Day 7: Reconnect With an Old Friend

Art of Manliness Day 7: Reconnect w/ an Old Friend

  • This is probably one of the most important acts I wish to do and consider for all others. The older we get and the bigger our personal families swell, the harder it seems to connect with friends. I find this particularly true for myself. Although Shelby and I do not have kids yet, I still find it difficult to connect with my friends. Some have their own families that keep them occupied and others are off still living the single life. Still I would like to spend more time and make a better effort to visit with my friends.
  • My high school buddies and I still communicate more regularly than any other group of friends I have, however, we still manage to only visit and truly connect a few times a year if that. We have plans for this summer to visit my buddy who lives in San Marcos to stay at his place and spend a weekend floating the river.
  • I have made an effort to reconnect with a few of my college buddies in recent months. Some have families that keep them busy and others are still living the single life. They each have their own plans and well…sometimes it has been difficult to squeeze our plans together. Oh, I almost forgot to mention. I did reconnect with two college friends last month for more than one occasion. I am sure to see more of them in the near future as well.
  • The goal of day 7 for the challenge is to reconnect with at least 3 friends.

Wake Up:

  • 4:45am

Train:

  • Lunge: 12 minutes
  • 25 ab wheels

Nutrition:

  • Bulletproof coffee
  • Egg, oats, cacoa nibs, honey, cinnamon
  • PB & banana
  • beef, broccoli
  • chocolate cake (co-worker made it; sugar free and gluten free)
  • chicken, green beans & seeds
  • salad & PB w/ banana

Daily Devotion:

  • Bible in 1 Year Series
    • How to Make Good Choices
      1. Psalm 55:12-23. Choose trust over worry
        • ‘worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow. It empties today of its strength.’ – Corrie ten Boom
        • If you are involved in a confrontation with a close friend or family member, turn to God for comfort and strength
        • Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you
      2. John 3:22-36. Choose Jesus
        • You have to choose how you live your life; are you focused on your promotion of on exalting Jesus? Is your ambition more for yourself, or for Jesus?
        • ‘He must become greater, I must become less’ (v30); Our ambition must always be to point people to Jesus
      3. Joshua 23:1-24:33. Choose to serve the Lord
        • Worshipping and serving God is the way to a fulfilling life. Don’t waste your life chasing ‘false’ Gods
        • False gods or the one true God
        • False gods claimed to be modern and scientific, with true control over agriculture, fertility and sex
        • ‘But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord’ (v15).
        • Repentance and faith – first, repentance = throw away the foreign gods, get rid of the bad stuff; second – faith = put your whole life into the hands of the Lord

What I Am Reading:

  • UCC: Free Yourself From Legal Tyranny

What I Am Listening To:

  • Art of Manliness Ep.302 – Strength Training Program
  • AoM Ep. 301 – The Wisdom of Action

Daily Agenda

  • Work
  • Rest up a little (back and forth days at work and I have to work graduation tomorrow night)
Leave a Reply

