AoM 30 Day Better Man Challenge: Day 4 & 5

Day 4: Increase Testosterone

  • Benefits of T
    • increase physical and mental energy
    • increase competitive drive
    • increase muscle size and strength
    • increase metabolism
    • increase libido and prevent ED
    • help prevent dementia and Alzheimer’s
    • healthy heart and blood
    • increase cognitive ability
  • Why is this important
    • studies have shown a general decrease in the T levels of men over the last few decades in the U.S.
    • this decrease is not related to normal aging either
    • less T overall, decrease in sperm count
    • refer to benefits and T and imagine the opposite
  • Causes of decrease in serum levels of T in general population
    • environmental factors
    • chemicals introduced while in the womb and across the lifetime
    • behavioral problems/changes in men over the last few decades (work/home life)
    • obesity
    • social norms
    • stress
    • lack of sleep (hustle mentality)
    • soy and plastic intake
    • eating a low fat diet
  •  Goal: Increase your T (start w/ trying 3 things from below)
    • get 8 hours of sleep
    • do not eat anything with soy in it (read labels)
    • meditate for 10 minutes (to relieve stress)
    • do resistance training
    • eat a good portion of fat
    • eat a hearty serving of animal protein
    • eat a hearty serving of cruciferous vegetables
    • have morning sex (T is high in the morning)
  • I choose to do:
    • do resistance training (at least 5 days a week; today = squats and deadlifts)
    • eat fat (eggs, seeds)
    • eat animal protein (chicken, eggs)
    • eat veggies (green beans, broccoli)

Day 5: Cultivate Your Gratitude

  • Gratitude is the sign of noble souls – Aesop
  • It is tied up with the virtue of humility
  • It shows that we are paying attention to the acts of service people perform for us
  • Personal gratitude
    • grateful for what you have
    • focused not on the things you lack, but on all things you have going for you
    • it’s about finding new layers of wonderfullness in the things you have right now
  • Today’s Task: Cultivate Your Gratitude
    • Part 1: Cultivate Your Own Personal Gratitude (10 things I am grateful for; be specific)
      1. I am grateful for my loving, caring, beautiful wife, whom is an absolute beast in life in chasing her own dreams.
      2. I am thankful for my dog Malakai. He is such a well mannered dog with a great personality.
      3. I am thankful for my brother Cody, who will always be my best bro friend that I can count on
      4. I am thankful for my health, my ability to stay focused on exercise and nutrition.
      5. I am thankful for my garage, as it is big enough to store my tools, mountain bikes and have a fully functional garage gym
      6. I am thankful for my truck, that despite its age and mileage it still runs well and does not require much maintenance.
      7. I am grateful that I live in a free country, in which I am not necessarily forced into anything I do not want to do (taxes still suck, but hey theres always North Korea)
      8. I am grateful for my friend Tommy, who built and gave me a Firestick for free to watch any TV show and movie
      9. I am grateful for my family, on both sides, for all that they do for Shelby and I (buying dinner, watching the dog, buying us gifts…)
      10. I am thankful for Jesus, who died for my sins that I may receive forgiveness and everlasting life
    • Part 2: Show your gratitude to others (give 3 thank yous to 3 different people, be specific)
      1. Shelby’s mom, my mother-n-law: thankful to her for taking me golfing on Saturday while Shelby and her dad played in a tournament and for her giving me a pair of boots that another family member was trying to sell
      2. Thankful for my wife, just because she loves me and keeps me honest in my stubborn ways.
      3. Thankful for my neighbor and friend Ryan, who looked after the house while we were gone, gives me haircuts, looks after Malakai if we have long days at work and is always willing to lend a helping hand.
Leave a Reply

