TGIF…Seriously!

What a busy week I had to start off the work week. Between Monday and Wednesday I put in at least 30 hours. That might not seem like too terribly much, but the hours consisted of coming and going from home to work. Otherwise I would have pulled 12 hour days. Thankfully, I live close enough to do so. Thursday and Friday were lighter on the loads and allowed me to catch up on normal duties.

During that time period my daily schedule was off so I did not eat normal meals or a time periods. Frankly, I ate terrible by my standards. Might I have been able to eat better or function daily up to par, yes! Did I? No! Why? Probably stress and missing out on my family life, which happens to be my most valuable time consideration in my life. My wife might disagree with that due to the nature of how our work/life balance is, but it is. That is why I am constantly working towards and searching for better options. I say constantly, but if I look at this past week that word has no meaning. It a full circle effect on work/life balance right now that pulls and pushes each direction, both for the good and for the bad.

This morning I took my truck for an oil change and basic maintenance. Sometimes I wonder if what they tell me is actually necessary or for profit. I understand some, if not most of the automotive lingo though. I just have to question their motives at times. Although my truck is 17 years old and has about 318,000 miles so I do take into consideration the need for basic maintenance and repair services offered. My goal is to squeeze every ounce of life out of truck I can get. Granted, I would love a newer, nicer and larger vehicle. However, I am practicing delayed gratification and fiscal responsibility.

And….like the old saying goes, “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it”; or in my case replace it

Training:

  • Deadlift:
  • Deadlift EMOM x 2 for 15 min.:
  • WOD for time:

Nutrition:

  • Eggs and oats w/ agave, cinnamon and cacoa nibs
  • Chicken & broccoli & seeds
  • g
  • fd

Personal Devolopment

  • Bible in 1 Year Series (3 days catch up)
    • Traps, Tests and Temptations
      1. Psalm 38:1-12. Traps
        • whatever your failings and difficulties are, you can bring them to God in prayer
      2. Luke 7:11-35. Tests
        • Needs of others – we must seek the right words and the right responses to all those in need; must be motivated by compassion
        • Criticism – ”the proof is in the pudding” (v.35); wisdom
      3. Numbers 23:27-26:11. Temptations
        • Witchcraft – turning to supernatural, magical powers that do not come from God to find things out; horoscopes, tarot cards, fortune tellers, Ouija boards, palm reading…
        • Immorality – sexual immorality
        • God-substitutes – Idols, statutes
    • How to Become Wise (knowledge is horizontal, wisdom is vertical)
      1. Proverbs 8:12-31. Seek wisdom in God
        • Wisdom comes from God – ‘fear of the Lord’ where fear means respect; God is the foundation of all wisdom
        • Wisdom is pure and beautiful – peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere
        • Wisdom helps you lead well
        • Wisdom is available to you – through prayer with God
      2. Luke 7:36-50. See people with wise eyes
        • whatever your past life, with Jesus you make a completely new start and have a great future; you do not need to go around burdened by guilt; the moment you repent and put your faith in Jesus, all your sins are wiped out
        • do not judge others by outward appearances but to see the heart
      3. Numbers 26:12-27:11. Show wisdom in practical decisions
        • do not look within at your own instincts but to seek wisdom from God for decisions
    • A Hundredfold Return
      1. Psalm 38:13-22. Personal Savior
        • Ask – cry out for help to the Lord
        • Confess – sins
        • Trust – God to save you
      2. Luke 8:1-18. Great Sower
        • sowing the seed of the word of God
        • Hard-hearted – some won’t believe
        • Faint-hearted – some respond very enthusiastically, but it won’t last
        • Half-hearted – very responsive, but drop out later on due to ‘the thorns of life’
        • Whole-hearted – seize the word and hold on no matter what
      3. Numbers 27:12-29:11. Chief Shepherd
        • Jesus
        • be a shepherd…a good one
  • Daily Stoic
    • Don’t Let Philosophy Go To Your Head
      • Do the work
      • Live the word
    • Whatever It Is, It’s Not a Big Deal
      • Take the long view
      • Don’t get wrapped up in any of it (whatever it is)
      • Take it as is, do with it what you can
      • Good, bad, rich, famous, poor, screwed over…in 100 years it will all be the same
      • It is not a big deal…in 100 years, 50 years, 5 hours, not even NOW
Leave a Reply

