April 4, 2017

Today is going to be a busy day at work. In fact I might be there for up to 11 hours. On the schedule for today is the Blood Drive (tomorrow as well) and the annual Student Life Crawfish Boil (our biggest event). The crawfish boil is a labor intensive event and will probably last for around 5 to 6 hours total for those working it. The blood drive is typically held Wednesday and Thursday from 8:30 am to 2:00 pm, however changes were made earlier this year for this semester.

I still find it odd that I am the chair person at school for the blood drive. I am the rec sports and wellness coordinator. The blood drive is a community event. I do not do much community outreach as we have a department on campus specifically for that. Also, I can see where wellness and blood drive might fit together, however, I do not see much participation or help out of other departments on campus where the blood drive would make sense to collaborate with.

I sound like I am complaining, but we have different departments on campus for a reason. I do not mind helping out and working together. Most of the time though the other departments want to use the gym, in which we provide most of the labor to help setup and are responsible for cleaning up afterwards (unless it is a major school event). Either that or people just want free advice, programs, and help with regards to exercise and nutrition from me.

Getting back to the day, sorry for my rant there; like I said it will be busy. Not to mention I did not sleep all that well and woke up sweating a few times. My workout this morning was tough and surprise I sweated a ton more. All this in the face of working most of the day outside laboring away at the crawfish boil. I will certainly have to replace all the fluids I lost already and will lose throughout the day. My eating schedule is going to be way off today which does not make me too happy, something all the fitness folks out there understand.

Train: “The Seven” 7 Rounds for Time (I put 30 min. time cap on the workout for time saving purposes)

  • 7 handstand pushups (box progression)
  • 7 thrusters (95#)
  • 7 knees to elbow
  • 7 deadlifts (225#)
  • 7 burpees
  • 7 kettlebell swings (24kg)
  • 7 pullups

Nutrition:

  • eggs and oats
  • Tuna salad and Travel Aid
  • Cajun food (crawfish, shrimp, asparagus, corn on the cob, potatoes, crab)
  • j

Personal Devo:

  • Bible in 1 Year Series
    • Ten Top Tips for God’s Messengers
      1. Psalm 37:32-40. Stay close to God
        • if you want to hear God’s message you need to wait passionately for God, don’t leave the path.
      2. Seek Peace
        • blessed are the peacemakers
        • for there is a happy end for the man of peace
      3. Luke 6:37-7:10. Do not judge
        • it is much easier to see the faults in those around me than to see my own shortfalls and weaknesses.
      4. Forgive others
        • Jesus said, ‘forgive, and you will be forgiven’
        • forgiveness saves the expense of anger, the cost of hatred and the waste of energy
      5. Give away your life
        • give away your life; you’ll find life given back, but not merely given back – given back with bonus and blessing
        • generosity begets generosity
      6. Hitch your wagon to a star
        • ‘The student is not above the teacher, but everyone who is fully trained will be like the teacher.’
      7. Guard your heart
        • for out of the overflow of one’s heart the mouth speaks
        • good people bring good things out of the good stored up in their hearts
      8. Obey God’s word
        • the wise person hears the message and puts it into practice
        • knowing God’s word and obeying it should be the foundation of your life
      9. Be under authority
        • your message today will have authority if you are under God’s authority and are led by the Holy Spirit
      10. Numbers 22:21-23:26. Finish well
        • even those who are used by God can get themselves into a mess
Leave a Reply

