3/28/17 Daily Habits

Alarm was set for 430 am. However, I think I was slightly awake before it went off. I think this was because I woke up hungry. I believe after yesterday I added up at least 8 accounts of me complaining. Most were in one situation, of which I do not remember the topic. So far this week, after only one day, I am up to 8 burpees for the penalty of 8 complaints. Fitting considering the last number point of my devotion reading of today. Also, I did not watch TV yesterday. My wife wanted us to catch up on some of our shows, but we ended up playing dominoes instead.

I am thinking about adding another 7 day daily habit challenge to my week. I might start this one next week so as to not have too many habits to change. Although this one is not a habit, good or bad. I plan to eat my meals either standing or in the third world squat position. No sitting during meals.

I need to practice my golf swing. It has been at least 10 days since I picked up the clubs. Shelby and I tried to swing by the range on Saturday, but it was closed due to the heavy rains Friday night.

I am not 100% sure, but I only caught myself complaining twice today. That would put me up to 10 in two days. I am still trying to be more conscious of the fact when I think about or begin to complain.

Train:

  • Bike 1.25 miles; rest 2 min.; bike .66 miles; rest 1 min; bike .5 miles
  • 5 rounds for time with Kettlebell (16Kg): 5 thrusters + 5 goblet squats + 5 sumo deadlifts + 5 swings + 5 press (R) + 5 press (L) + 3 burpee penalty for setting down the weight at any time. Finished in 6:01 with no penalty. The weight was slightly easy. Pressing the 24Kg kettlebell overhead might not have gone well.

Nutrition:

  • banana & PB (upon waking up)
  • eggs, bacon, oats & spinach + cucumbers
  • TravelAid & Starbucks ice coffee (was brought to me at work, didn’t taste sweet but had milk)
  • Roast and some veggies, avocado
  • El Pollo Loco chicken avocado salad
  • Some almonds
  • Tuna salad (spinach, peppers, cucumber, Italian dressing) & PB and banana

Personal Development:

  • Bible in 1 Year Series
    • God is Good – All the Time
      1. Psalm 35:19-28. In all things God works for your good
        • Beware the ‘no good’ crowd – when you come under attack from those who gossip, do not speak peaceably and devise false accusations
        • Having a ‘good time’ is not always good – having a party at your expense
        • God works everything for good – God takes bad things that happen to you and uses them for the good
        • Tell the world how good God is
      2. Luke 3:1-22. Goodness comes from repentance and the Holy Spirit
        • repentance is good; it is liberating; it leads to freedom and forgiveness
        • Generosity – those who can afford it should support those who can’t
        • Honesty – John tells the tax collector “don’t collect any more than you are required to”
        • Contentment – be content with your pay
        • Enjoy being a child of God – vital for your identity, confidence and security
        • Experience God’s love
        • Expect God’s pleasure – when the Spirit of God dwells in you, your life becomes pleasing to him
      3. Numbers 9:15-11:3. God has promised to give you good things
        • Complaining keeps you captive, while remembering God’s faithfulness sets you free
        • Praise, thanksgiving and worship are the antidote to complaining and grumbling
  • Daily Stoic
    • Before you freak out, ask yourself these questions
      • Does getting upset provide you with more options?
      • When you worry, what are you choosing not to see?
      • Are you worried about what will happen later instead of doing the right thing, right now?
      • Does what happened keep you from acting with justice, generosity, self-control, honesty and humility?
      • What if we regarded it as an opportunity rather than a disaster?
  • The Richest Man in Babylon
    • Lending (Investing) & Borrowing
      • If you desire to help a friend (lend), do so in a way that will not bring the friend’s burdens upon you.
      • In lending (investing), if they borrow for purposes that bring money back to them, it will bring money back to you. If they borrow because of their indiscretions, it is with warning that you may not end up with proper repayment
      • Youth is ambitious. Youth will take short cuts to wealth and the desirable things for which it stands. To secure wealth quickly youth often borrow unwisely. Youth, never having had experience, cannot realize that hopeless debt is like a deep pit into which one may descend quickly and where one may struggle vainly for man days.
      • The wise lender wishes not the risk of the undertaking but the guarantee of safe repayment
      • The first desire of man and his money is for safety
      • The second desire of man and his money is to grow it larger
      • Better a little caution than a great regret
      • One cannot afford to be without adequate protection (insurance, savings accounts and dependable investments)
Leave a Reply

