Hump Day 3/22

Wake up 500am. I am not sure why I am so tired this week so far. I kept my schedule during my spring for the most part. I never slept past 6am, even on the weekends. Not much on the agenda for today minus the normal to do list.

Train:

  • Strict Press – 4 x 4 working sets moving up each set (102.5 final)
  • Strict Press – EMOM x 4 for 10 minutes at 72.5
  • 21 – 15 – 9 of (R) arm DB snatch 20# + (L) arm DB snatch 20# + HR pushups… and 10 toes to bar each round. *I tried to use my KB, but I need to practice more with those outside of a WOD. Finished in 8:02; what slowed my down the most was toes to bar as I am not able to string together many of them due to my garage gym setup currently.
  • Dog walk for 10-15 minutes (he was bad yesterday on the walk so this was a strict and quick walk for him to learn how not to chase cats)

Nutrition:

  • 530 am – banana & PB
  • 8:30 am – bacon, eggs, oats, spinach

Personal Development:

  • Bible in 1 Year Series (I really enjoy some of the messages from the designer of the series, sometimes the right message of the day hits at the right time)
    • The Battle of Life
      1. Psalm 33:12-22. Trust in God
        • The key to winning your battles is not to rely on your own strength, but to put your trust in God
      2. Luke 1:26-38. Unite around the King
        • The battle we are facing today in the 21st century: is Jesus the universal Savior?
        • Savior: the name Jesus means savior
        • Messiah: the angel say, ‘The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, and he will reign over Jacob’s descendants forever; his kingdom will never end’ (vv.32-33)
        • Son of God: Jesus is both fully human (born in a normal way) and yet also fully God (conceived by the Holy Spirit)
        • To be a Christian is to be a follower of Christ; we are all children of God; this makes us brothers and sisters; the battle should never be between our brother and sisters in Christ; the real battle is around the King.
        • ‘The Lord is with you’ and Jesus’ lasts words to the disciples were ‘I am with you always’; Whatever circumstances you face, you need not fear. The King is with you.
        • The Holy Spirit is within you
        • The King is over you. ‘I am the Lord’s servant, and I am willing to accept whatever he wants.’
      3. Numbers 1:1-2:9. Listen to God
        • The Christian life is a spiritual battle, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realm.
        • Take instructions from God
        • Raise up good leadership: key in every level and every society
        • Mobilize the people: each individual matters to God and has an important part to play in his plans
  • Daily Stoic
    • Wisdom is Clarity. Clarity is Freedom
      • the study of stoicism involves a drastic reduction in what one needs to focus on or worry about; the practicing stoic needed not worry about the future or the past; he does not need to made insecure about material possessions or success of others
      • man is born free, but lives in chains…of which are self-imposed
      • wisdom is clarity, clarity is freedom; paring down the above traits results in peace, courage and liberty
      • **The idea and practice of gaining wisdom in this matter makes much sense. I was born free, but have shackled my life with chains trying to fit into society and do what society says is ‘normal’. I should not worry about tomorrow if I am not living for today…that is not to say planning for a better tomorrow is absurd, but not acting upon today won’t get me to a better tomorrow. Also, I think I need so many things to be happy in life and while some of things I have I truly enjoy; I am always trying to find a way to simplify my life and get rid of distractions (of course this is where society pops up and something new enters my domain).
  • The Richest Man in Babylon (finally reading again)
    • The fifth cure for a lean purse is: Own thy own home; ”no man’s family can fully enjoy life unless they do have a plot of ground where the children can play in the clean earth and where the wife may raise good blossoms and herbs to feed her family’; ”to a man’s heart it brings gladness to eat of his own trees and vines…have it a place he is proud to care for.”
    • The 6th cure for a lean purse is: Provide in advance for the needs of thy growing age and the protection of thy family; insure investments or provision that may endure safely for many years, yet will be available in later life or when he is gone
    • The 7th cure for a lean purse is: cultivate thy own powers, to study and become wiser, to become more skillful, to so act as to respect thyself; the more wisdom we know, the more we may earn; preceding accomplishment must be desire, thy desires must be strong and definite; wealth is accumulated first in small sums, then in larger ones as a man learns and becomes more capable.
    • Luck does not exist in the fact that you or I will find a way to increase thy earnings or get rich by random luck (game tables, betting, finding 5K on the side of the road); we have to create our own luck in the sense that we must become more wise, more capable and work smart and hard to increase thy wealth. It will not just happen by pure luck or chance.
Leave a Reply

