Spring Break Day 4: More Golf

Yesterday I spent most of the day cleaning and organizing the house. My laptop was moving slow and was not cooperating efficiently enough to use. I trained yesterday with Ryan. We hit bench press, in which I could muster 225 fairly well. I did have some discomfort in my left shoulder while pressing the weight. All bets aside, I am not sure I will ever be able to bench press to the level I was at again prior to injury. Only time will tell and apparently spraining an AC joint without much damage otherwise is one of those injuries that takes a long time to come back from (7-8 months so far).

Pre-plans: Today, my friend Josue and I are going to play a round a golf at a local course here in Houston. It was a cheap round ($10) so I hope the course is not too difficult. This will be his first time on the course ever. Lets just say we are just going to have a good time, smack some little white balls across the fields and enjoy the day.

Post plans: Golf was tough today. The course was slightly difficult, but nothing in comparison to Tuesday. At least 3 to 4 holes were with shots over the bayou (about a 30 or so foot drop/rise on each side). I lost all but one ball on those holes. Josue played pretty well for his first time. He had some really good shots given the fact this was his first course he set foot on. We played the 18 rounds with a elderly gentleman by the name of Fred, who was visiting Houston for the weekend all the way from Colorado. He helped us out a ton with tips and tricks and general knowledge of how to play the game. I’d like to give a shout out to Fred, ‘Thanks for the help. We enjoyed your company. Enjoy Houston and be safe in your journeys.’ Overall, Josue and I played about as well as expected. We had a few good shots and tons of bad ones. We both tried to grip it and rip it just about every time. I landed a nice tee shot on a 210 yd. Par 3 with my 4 iron that landed just short and to the right of the green. I managed to mess up the birdie chance though…and the ensuing par as well. I did manage to Par one hole though. It was a Par 3 with my tee shot landing way short and right of the hole (wind was in our face). My second shot landed right of the green on the fringe about 1′ from the green. I had a 20-25′ putt shot from the fringe I took with a downhill right slanting green I hit to save par.

Training:

  • Day Off

Nutrition:

  • 2: Mexican food (chicken tacos)
  • I truly forgot what else I ate

Personal Development:

  • Bible in 1 Year Series:
    • God Has Rescued Me
      1. Psalm 31:1-8. Trust God to rescue you
        • Your refuge – there are many trial, tests, traps and temptations in life. The Lord is your refuge
        • Your rock – God is guiding and leading you, which is a security you can depend on
        • Your rescuer – In Jesus, you will receive the ultimate rescue. He will set your feet in a spacious place.
      2. Mark 13:32-14:16. Love your rescuer passionately
        • Nothing you do out of love for Jesus is ever wasted
      3. Leviticus 15:1-16:34. Marvel at God’s amazing rescue plan
        • Through Jesus, you can enter into the Holy of Holies everyday
    • BUT…
      1. Psalm 31:9-18. In trouble…’BUT I trust in you’
        • it is in the tough times that the object in which you trust is really put to the test
        • trust that in all things, God works for the good of those who love him
      2. Mark 14:17-42. In tests…’Yet not what I will, BUT what you will’
        • sometimes in life you may face difficulties not because you are doing something wrong, but because you are doing something right
        • Disloyalty – is gutting; it is horrible to be betrayed by an enemy or acquaintance, but it is unbearable to be betrayed by a friend
        • Disappointment – in the time of trial, even Jesus’ disciples fell away
        • Distress
        • Death – life for life; Jesus gave his life for us
        • ‘Yet not what I will, but what you will’ (Mark 14:36)
      3. Leviticus 17:1-18:30. In temptation…’BUT you…’
        • there is often temptation to conform to peer-pressure and follow the standards of those around us (sexual morality); God says, ‘obey my laws and live by my decrees’
        • ‘Do not conform to the pattern of this world’
  • Stoicism
    • Its About Exercises, Not Idle Speculation
      • Cato, one of the most famous Stoics, never wrote anything down. He didn’t spend time pondering silly questions or memorizing quotations. He spend time doing the philosophy. Living it. Practicing it. Exercising it.
      • Marcus Aurelius said, ‘Waste no more time arguing what a good man is like. be one.’
      • Be a Doer
    • I don’t even remember being hit
      • The next time in life you are slighted, hit and beat down…are you going to hold onto it? Are we going to demand forgiveness? Or are you going to move on, like nothing ever happened…because honestly — nothing really did.
Leave a Reply

