Tuesday Feb. 21: Tracking Progress

Wake Up 4:30 am. I waited for the wife to finish working out before I started. She gets up early and trains on day she has night classes. Today at work I am presenting lunch and learn lecture about meal prepping and nutrition basics for the student/employee wellness program. The background to the lecture is simply what my wife and I do to meal prep for the week and what foods we eat and do not eat, plus other basic nutritional advice geared toward healthy eating.

I ordered 4 new books yesterday to begin reading. Three of them are from the same author and directly relate to the conversation between my friend and I yesterday. The fourth book is called “The Richest Man in Babylon” by George S. Clason.

The lecture at work went very well today. I had about 30+ students/staff mix show up and ask questions. This would be a record total for one of my presentations/events related to wellness. I must thank all the people who put the word out for me and helped get people there.

I am going to start tracking progress both in the gym and out of the gym…fitness goals speaking. This will basically be an application style tracking model, as I am not worry about the statistical aspects of tracking. The numbers of reps, weight, time, etc. will show or prove progress and the way I look (aesthetically speaking) will determine progress nutrition wise. I am currently giving another try at Intermittent Fasting (IF) in which I will consume all my calories from 12 pm roughly to 8 :30 pm roughly each day the week. There are plenty of pros…along with cons with IF, however, I want to a better grip on my nutrition and I feel this best suited for myself based on current lifestyle. I will detail the progress every so often.

Train:

  1. Bench Press Illegally Wide Grip: 8 x 12 reps at 95 lbs. No problems in the shoulder girdle. I should have done more weight. Starting to feel good in some aspects.
  2. 6 set super-set: DB incline Bench x 12 reps (slow and controlled) at 20; DB flyes w/ 15# x 12 reps (did this for a few sets and had a problem with the shoulder grinding so i switched to banded chest flyes x 12 reps to finish
  3. Pushup 100 rep burnout: not sure how many sets it me to finish but I was pumped
  4. Front squat 5 count pause: 95, 115, 135, 155, 185, 205, 225
  5. Banded pull thru: 3×20
  6. Walking lunges for 12 minutes

Weight (same scale and clothes) before eating: 176.6, after first meal: 179.2, after second meal: 180.4

Nutrition:

  1. 1:30 pm – Ground turkey, veggies, 1/2 avocado & sweet potato; small serving of pulled pork and sausage gumbo from the employee Food & Fellowship monthly event.
  2. Snack – red bell peppers, banana & PB
  3. 5:30 pm – chicken breast, veggies, 1/2 avocado and sweet potato
  4. 8:30 pm – 2 eggs, banana, PB, 2 cups almond & coconut milk

Learning Material:

  • Bible in One Year
    • Make Something Beautiful Out of Your Life
      1. Walk wisely. Proverbs 4:20-27
        • What you think about: the life you lead will flow from your heart; think about things that are true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent and praiseworthy
        • What you say: words are powerful, use them carefully; words of the tongue should have three gatekeepers – Is it true? Is it kind? Is it necessary?
        • What you look at: guard your eyes, be careful what you look at; fix your gaze directly before you
        • Where you go: you will avoid a lot of temptation if you are careful about where you go
      2. Give generously. Matthew 27:45-66
        • what matters is not so much whether you are rich or poor; but how you respond to what Jesus has done for you and what you do with what you have
      3. Trust totally. Exodus 13: 1-14:31
  • Finished reading “The Compound Effect” by Darren Hardy

Daily Vibes:

Passion, Purpose, Vision: these get thrown around in every conversation about greatness, entrepreneurship, leaders, champions…and to be honest I am sometimes lost and do not see it quite clearly. I know what my passion is. I have not genuinely 100 percent defined my purpose and my vision is blurry. I do know I do not want to continue down the same path though because I want to so much more out of life…which is where I am confused and hesitant. I do not know what my vision looks like to be exact or I just cannot quite fill in the pieces to the puzzle to be sure. This video reminded of how tough it can be to make it without those three things. FOCUS!

P.S. – The main image is in reference to Be the Lion or Become the Lion motivation, of which I am feeling recently. #bethelion

Leave a Reply

