You Have to Make Goals Real

After months away from blogging I am committing to blogging at least daily from here out. Why? I set a goal for myself. Personally, I want to write down my actions, thoughts, concerns, interests, etc. and have them readily available. Socially, I would like to share those ideas with other people and connect with others in the same fashion. Either way, I set blogging as a goal for myself and today is the start of it becoming REAL. I was inspired to write this first post after setting my goal of doing so and then discussing with my colleagues about their health related goals.

GOALS…

NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS…

2017 NEW YEAR, NEW ME…

Image result for new years resolution

Every year at the top of the year, people go insane with Resolutions and Goals they want to accomplish in that calendar year. However, I am willing to bet most people (including myself in 2016) ended up like this:

Image result for new years resolution fail

WHY DO WE BEAT OURSELVES UP LIKE THIS?

WHY DO WE SET OURSELVES UP FOR FAILURE?

Because:

Image result for thoughts without actions quote

&

Image result for thoughts without actions quote

YOU HAVE TO MAKE GOALS REAL

Goals & Resolutions thought out are only wishes if you do not make them REAL. Action always beats intention. Most of us get stuck with the notion of creating goals with the intention of sticking to them. We assume that if we create a goal and tell ourselves we intend to see it through that it will actually see itself through. Stop intending and start DOING today.

Signing up for a gym membership because you want to lose weight is not action. That is just a waste of time and money. There was no true thought and insight into setting that goal. You just did what every else is doing. There was no making it REAL and no ACTION PLAN behind it. Would a gym membership help? Yes, probably so. Is that taking action to help you achieve that goal…

Only if you follow these simple steps first:

STEP 1: Make Your Goals Real

Take the goals you created in your mind and put them down on paper. SEE your goals. VISUALIZE!

Once you have put your goals down on paper and given them thought, put them in a place (s) you will see EVERY day. Ex: I’m putting my fitness goals on my whiteboard in my garage gym…now that I have a whiteboard.

STEP 2: Create An Action Plan

Now that you have goals you have to create a way to accomplish them. Once again, a goal without a plan is just a wish. Use the SMART (specific, measurable, agreed-upon, realistic, time-based) goals project to assist with writing out an action plan.

STEP 3: Take Action

This is the most VITAL step. Tons of people create goals. Not many actually make them real and with an action plan. Very few actually take ACTION. Just because you created goals, made them real and created an action doesn’t mean they will magically happen. YOU HAVE TO TAKE ACTION!!!

Image result for making goals real

Leave a Reply

