My Conversation With An Atheist

HeavenJohn316

I am a believer in Jesus Christ and God the Father. There is no questioning my belief nor could anyone make me think otherwise. It is my personal belief and opinion, similar to how an atheist does not believe in God. In sharing my personal belief with an acquaintance who is an atheist, I did not force my opinion nor did I attempt to proselytize my acquaintance.

The two of us had a simple conversation regarding our belief structure and how that impacted us individually. With the tensions surrounding religion and higher powers that have plagued societies throughout history and continuing today for fighting of religious liberty versus freedom from religion in public sectors, it is a topic not normally discussed well between an atheist and a believer. I have my beliefs and opinions in which I believe are right, similar to how the next person in line has his/her own. Who is right and who is wrong? Neither! Who is to say another person is wrong or right? Nobody can truly determine if another person is right and/or wrong. I guess what I am truly attempting to say is, each person is right about his/her own beliefs. To another person those beliefs are neither wrong nor right because they are reserved for that specific individual.

Back to my conversation with an atheist. We came to understand each other and how neither one of us was wrong about our beliefs. We attempted to throw the typical punchlines about God’s existence from each our point of views. I replied, “can you prove God doesn’t exist,” after my acquaintance asked me, “can you prove God exists?” Either way we found out that no matter what each other believed in or didn’t believe in, we could still get along together and live in this world side by side in peace.

The most important part of the conversation though, at least in my opinion, is how I ended the conversation before going our separate ways. What I said may seem counter intuitive to my right nor wrong explanation above, but I left my acquaintance with something to ponder judging by the smile and lack of response as he went his way. I closed by saying, “if I am wrong about God then I have wasted my life; if you are wrong about God then you have wasted your eternity.” This might be the most cliche of responses and conversations most sides commonly argue over, but it speaks true to me. Alas, if you read my statement above than regardless of what others may think I am right.

To settle the dust, I do not go out into the world attempting to proselytize everyone I came into contact nor do I behave as if I am 100% right and everyone else is wrong. To each his own and more power to you. However, due to my beliefs I make an effort to help people understand me and what I believe in. I believe in Jesus and God and heaven and hell and eternity. I want all my family members, friends and people of the world to get to know Jesus and join him one day in eternity. That is what my faith in God has taught me and I chose to share that with others. What you do with that information is up to you though.

In John 14:6 Jesus says, “I am the way the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Also in John 3:16, John says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, whosoever believes in him shall not perish but have everlasting life.”

I am not sure about what you particularly believe, but I want to be apart of that eternity after I can no longer call the world home.

Leave a Reply

